Hypertension

I noticed my blood pressures were high since 3 weeks ago, I thought it is just my anxieties.

The BP shot up to 180/110 before my surgery on 30/4 and maintained at 150/100-160/110 before I was discharged on 1/5. I also noticed some pains on my jaws and dizziness. I thought I am just tired.

After I started Coveram 5mg, the BP was dropped a bit and fluctuate for the next few days. I tried to rest, don’t work. So I went for outing to take WS & SC wedding photos at Janda Baik, and a jungle walk at FRIM yesterday. Tired, but the BP still high (159/98). I knew I must not delay my visit to doctor.

When I monitored my BP this morning, it was 169/112. BP crawling up slowly when I was waiting for the doctor, I knew. By the time doctor took my BP manually, it reached 200/120 and I was spinning with cold sweat!!!! Doctor immediately sent me to emergency room to take medication, said she will monitor again in an hour time. I guessed if I drove another KM to Selayang hospital this morning, I may have admitted to hospital immediately.

That hour was really really long, I just sit there tried to calm myself by doing the breathing exercise. I get more nervous when I found my phones were misplaced (luckily returned by the staff later). I was floating and spinning when I stood up.  I can felt my drowsiness,  heavy breathing & heart beat sound (its lunch time, clinic suddenly became so quiet) when I sat down. I don’t dare to close my eyes, I am afraid I may gone anytime…………….

My BP was dropped slightly to 180/105 when doctor came back at 2pm. We discussed a bit and she diagnosed I have hypertension. She prescribed a month of 10mg amlodipine – as besilate (calcium blocker) for me. As usual, the best cure for hypertension is cut down sodium, sweets, sugary beverages, and red meats, reduce weight and exercise more.

By the time ready to leave the clinic, I felt much better, especially after a few bites of bread and drunk plenty of plain water.  Reading at 3pm has dropped to 153/191 and 141/87 at 5pm respectively. I was a bit relieved after the shower and hair shampoo (I can’t wash myself due to hand surgery).

I need to monitor myself  carefully for the next few days. Underlying problem may include heart diseases or chronic kidney problems.

Leave a Reply

