My first surgery

The surgery markings on my left hand
The surgery markings on my left hand

It’s nightmare n a lot of drama (quote from Dr Ranjit) this morning before admission. The insurance administration refuse to issue the guarantee letter after 2 rounds of info enquiry. Ultimately, I decided to do the surgery n claim later. By that time (after 10am), it’s long passed my scheduled surgery time at 9am. So the hospital need to rush my preparation n pushed me to operating theatre queuing after the other patient.

I original thought its a small surgery with local anaesthetic. Later only found out they need to anaesthetise n put me in deep sleep. By the time I woke up, it’s 2 hours later in the observation room. I only fully awake n able to get down from bed after another 2 hours around 6pm. I was hungry, thirsty n want to pee 😝

Overall surgery went well. And I am glad chosen to stay for a night instead of day care. The swollen n plain on palm n fingers gradually subset n hopefully gone by tomorrow when discharge.

I have some misconceptions before this,
Misconception 1, microsurgery does not mean “small” surgery, doctors are using advanced tools n high surgery skill to fix nerves n micro part of the body. I guess as compare to my roommates who gone through spine n back surgery, my pain is minima.
Misconception 2, don’t need hospitalisation did not mean don’t need patient care n MC. I am glad I decided to stay one night. I lost some of my mobility with only 1 hand.
Misconception 3, wound should be heeled in 2 weeks time n I can do my computer work as usual. Now doctor told me I should avoid driving if necessary. But how could i go to work without driving I am now on 2 weeks MC.

After some exchange with my roommates, we think the doctor always “trick” us without full story to avoid unnecessary anxiety, haha

The price tag? A bomb of RM15K and 2 months of slow recovery to gain my grips and grabs.

10423886_10206651404703163_6851120615955593293_n
After surgery

Leave a Reply

