First They Came For ….

First they came for Hindraf,
I remained silent;
I was not a Hindu.

Then they locked up the bloggers,
I remained silent;
I was not a blogger.

Then they came for Perak,
I did not protest;
I was not a Perakian.

Then they came for Selangor,
I did not speak out;
I was not a Selangorian.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out for me.

Adopted from : Pastor Martin Niemöller Poem-“First they came for the Communists”

First they came for the Communists
When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I was not a Jew.

Then they came for the Catholics,
and I didn’t speak up because I was a Protestant.

Then they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.

Original Version is in German, So this is the English Version Martin Niemöller’s poem -“First they came for the Communists”

起初他们追杀共产主义者
起初他们追杀共产主义者, 我不说话, 因为我不是共产主义者

接着他们追杀社会民主主义者, 我不说话, 因为我不是社会民主主义者

后来他们追杀工会成员, 我不说话, 因为我不是工会成员

之后他们追杀犹太人, 我还是不说话, 因为我不是犹太人

接着,他们追杀天主教徒,我没有挺身直言, 因为我是新教徒。

最后他们要追杀我, 但再也没有人站起来为我说话了

原文:马丁·尼莫拉的反纳粹的忏悔文

Leave a Reply

