Fruit Enzyme DIY

I’ve been suffered digestive and burg problems for more than a month. In the previous encounter, I managed to “solve” the health issues by taking pro-biotic etc, but not this time.

I tried the digestive enzymes ……….although it didn’t cure the problems but it did improve my burg condition and relieve some heart burn (according to doctor, this is most probably due to hyperacidity).

So I decided to make this fruit enzyme myself. After some research, I roughly figure out the method, ingredients, control conditions, and etc and get all things ready yesterday.

葡萄酵素和黄梨酵素做法

酵素必成10个秘诀

酵素的功能與好處

According to some experienced friends, I should start with fruits that not so easy to “fail”, i.e. the pineapples. But I’m having a dilemma ………..I remember the last time I “dissect” a pineapples, I have to turn the fruit to pineapples jam, coz the whole fruit just can’t present as fresh cut fruit. So this will be a big challenge for me to deal with it.

At last, I manage to cut the pineapples and it came out in good one piece. My mum definitely will happy to see this results :-)

To safeguard myself, I’m also going to make the green apple enzyme.

The recipe for the Pineapple Enzymes:

  • 1 Pineapple
  • 1 Lemon
  • 1.5 pack of Brown Candy

The recipe for the Green Apple Enzyme:

  • 2 green apples
  • Half Lemon
  • Half pack of Brown Candy

The following are the steps of making the fruit enzymes:

  1. Clean all the fruits, utensils, glass containers and let it drip dry.
  2. Peel all the fruits and cut into small pieces.
  3. Arrange 1st layer of the cut fruits (pineapples or green apple) into the glass container
  4. Follow by another layer of brown candy.
  5. Repeat step 3 to 4 till the content is around 60% of the container.
  6. Arrange layers of lemon.
  7. Cover the last layer with brown candy.
  8. The ingredients should not more than 80% of the container. (Fermentations process will release a lot of gases and may overflow if the contents are too full)
  9. Close the container tightly and leave it in dry and cool place.
  10. “Rock and Roll” the container daily. Ensure all the fruits are immerse in the liquid to prevent mold / fungus growth. If required, add more brown candy
  11. After 3-4 days, can open the cover to release the gases. (Note: should open and close immediately)
  12. If observe for any mold / fungus growth (black dot), remove the affected fruits immediately and add more brown candy (high sugar content / low water content can help to preserve the fruits)
  13. The enzyme should be ready to be consumed in 2-3 weeks.
  14. Separate the fruit from liquid and transfer the enzyme into new clean glass bottle.
  15. The enzyme shall be kept in the refrigerator to preserve it better (cool temperature will slow down the fermentation process that will turn the enzyme into alcohol).

Left – Green Apple; Center – Green Apple & Pineapples (Candy at top layer only); Right – Pineapples

Can’t wait to harvest it in 3 weeks time!!!

Update on 25/06/08

pineapples enzymeAt last I harvest my first experimental pineapples & green apple enzyme.

Both taste good. I preferred the pineapples one, its look lighter in colour and sweeter (the 2 bottles at the right). It’s produced around 500ml from the pineapples jug.

The green apple & pineapples enzyme (at far left) is darker in colour and produce less enzyme (around 200ml).

I mixed 2 table spoons of fruit enzyme with 250ml cool water. Really refreshing.

Related fruit enzyme making write-up

  1. Fruit enzyme DIY – Creen Guava
  2. Fruit enzyme DIY – Dragon Fruit
65 thoughts on “Fruit Enzyme DIY

  1. 银心,

    我不是医生啦, 只是久病成医,懂一点点的医学健康常识。

    一般的生菜蔬果如木瓜、蘋果、鳳梨、蘆薈、大蒜、香菇等健康食品都有很多天然酵素,可是热煮蔬菜会破坏了它,再加上我们少生吃蔬菜水果, 所以身體的酵素不足而影响身体健康。酵素是可提煉出來的,很多研究也说明如何制造酵素 。所以我相信那液体是酵素∶-), 而且是越久越好。

    酵素是一個可以幫助食物消化及促進代謝最有效的一個轉助工具, 身體的器官功能營養的吸收,無一不與酵素息息相關。簡單的說;人類在進行思考、活動、觀察、判斷時都需要藉助酵素來幫忙。
     
    酵素如果不足或功能失常,新陳代謝就會失調,引發許多疾病,輕則讓你失去美麗及活力,重則百病叢生,失去健康。

    酵素即能調節生理機能;消炎,抑止細菌;那我相信如有妇女病, 可以服用。

    慧君

  2. i made some bottles, but there are some white spots(not white bubbles) on the top layer of lemon or fruits, can drink?let me know, else so sayang to throw it away…thanks

  3. Hi Pei Yean,

    The white spot should be mold, it should not be harmful if it is not black spot.

    You can try following method to salvage the enzyme:

    1. Remove the mold, layers of fruits and liquid that contaminated with mold with a clean spoon.
    2. Stir the fruit and liquid evenly.
    3. Add in a layer of newly slided lemon and brown sugar / honey.
    4. Close it back and observe if there is any more white spot within next few days. Throw it if the smell is bad or the white & black spots are there.

    I’ve made almost 10 bottles of enzyme, all are ok and no mold except one bottle where I didn’t shake / rock it during its fermentation process (within 3-7 days after you make it). When I’m back from holiday after 5-6 days, a layer of gray mold developed. I tried the above method and the mold have gone, but the smell is a bit funny and I guess I have made vinegar instead of enzyme!

  4. Hi huichun,
    Do you take the skin off the lemon, or can you leave it on?
    What about limes? Can they replace the lemon?
    And can I use normal/raw sugar instaead of the brown candy?
    I tried making the enzymes from your green apple recipe, and I only got about 100ml of liquid, yellow in colour and not sweet at all – maybe it was vinegar!
    Thanks.

  5. Hi Koh,

    You have a choice to use lemon or limes, but lemon will have a better results in ensuring the enzyme not turn bad.

    If you did not remove the lemon skin, the enzyme will taste a bit sour, unless you like that taste:-) The lemon skin make a very nice smell garbage enzyme.

    As for the sugar, you can use brown sugar, brown candy, honey etc. Not advising to use the normal “white” sugar as the material has gone thru a bleaching process that not good for our health.

    No matter its enzyme or vinegar, both also good for health, so don’t worry.

  6. Lemon play the role of preservative, to reduce the chances of fruit enzyme turn bad during the fermentation process. And also add a special tart taste and aroma to the enzyme fluid.

    I don’t think there is any harm to just put fruits with sugar only, just like the garbage enzyme making recipe. Only shortcoming I can think off will be your enzyme may have mould and fungus grow faster.

  7. I’m recently in the craze of making enzyme-2 weeks ago!.. …..I didn’t know lemon skins will make the final product bitter.
    I fell in love with the red dragonfruit enzyme drink.

    One information I’d really like to know –
    Since there are so many kinds of fruits around – how or where can I know the information of different fruit enzymes for different cures?
    Please help.

    Thank you!

  8. after seperated the liquid enyzme and what about the remaining fruits waste,any use for it?
    why some make fruits enyzme use ratio of 3,suger 1 part,fruits 3 parts and water 10 parts. i understand that only for making gabage enyzme?
    please advice
    best regards

  9. David,

    I found the fruits from the enzyme making are very tasty (especially the pineapple and apple). So I either eat it directly or blended the fruits with a bit of sugar and use as jams spread or mixed with the fruit enzyme. I’ve kept my “jams” in the refrigerator for a while and didn’t turn bad.

    For some other fruits that not suitable to use for making jams or eating, I will dispose it like fertilizer to my plants or mixed with other waste to prepare garbage waste. Nothing wasted!

    I tried both method of enzyme making ( http://huichun.wordpress.com/2008/06/20/fruit-enzyme-diy-1/ ), both work out well. I preferred this method, more sweetness.

  10. I am going to make papaya and pineapple enyzme this week end,don’t know what the taste like,when two mix together?

  11. If the fruit enzyme is your first attempt. Try to mixed 2 table spoon in 250 ml water. You may feel some sensation / rejuvenated.

    You can increase the enzyme quantity after you get use to it.

  12. dear, i had made murberry leaves mixed with honey dew enzyme yesterday. i want to know whether the leaves can be made enzymes? i dont peel off lemon skin, can it unhealthy be like that? but i clean the lemons with garbage enzyme for 15 minutes before i cut.

  13. Hi, I never tried this formulation before, so not sure of the effect.

    Any plant component (from leave, fruit, skin etc) should be able to make into enzyme. But the period of fermentation may differ, so suggest you to leave more than 4 weeks to get results.

    Fruit skin is ok, just be reminded may be a bit bitter latter.

  14. i had collected my apple enzyme, but on top left a thin piece of mould. i did not discard it, but after i drink the enzyme, it does not cause stomach ache, is it ok like that?

  15. sorry for asking silly question because i am a pure vegetarian, wish to know does fruits enzyme contain any alcohol 酒精 after fermentation period.

  16. Hi hui chun, how about the aloe vera enzyme? i m going to try that, any special
    procedure or step need to take care?

    regards

  17. Im interested to know how to make fruit enzyme mist for face use ? can anyone here be able to advise ?

    Regards

  18. Hi, i had made some kiwi enzyme and it’s been 2 weeks. I tested PH and it shows 2.6 so that means it is acid. Pls advise whet it is good to drink? Do all enzymes show acidic PH? What if i keep it for a mth or more…is that better?

  19. Hi, i had made some kiwi enzyme and it’s been 2 weeks. I tested PH and it shows 2.6 so that means it is acid. Pls advise whet it is good to drink? Do all enzymes show acidic PH? What if i keep it for a mth or more…is that better? Tks.

  20. Hi Christie,

    I never tested the fruit enzyme I made, so I’m not sure its pH value.

    pH value is not the indicator to classify acidic or alkali forming food. E.g. the Lemons, Watermelon, Limes, Grapefruit, Mangoes, Papaya etc that classify as high alkaline food (which is good for health) has a pH less than 2. While the acid forming food like meat, egg, peanut etc also has a pH value < 3.

    For optimum health and maximum resistance to disease, it is imperative that your diet is slightly over-alkaline. The ideal ratio, according to the world's foremost authority on the relationship between the acid-alkaline ratio in the diet in health and disease, Dr. Ragnar Berg, is about 80% alkali-producing foods and 20% acid-producing foods.

    Details refer to http://www.alkaline-alkaline.com/ph_food_chart.html ; http://www.rense.com/1.mpicons/acidalka.htm

    As explain earlier, the longer you keep the enzyme the better it the effect.

  21. I did hear some remarks saying that the alcohol contains in the enzyme can caused our eyesight deteriorate. Is this true ?

  22. I made grapes with orange enzyme…within the first week got black dot (just one) on the top layer..so I remove it and use a form to immerse the fruits into the syrup…can it be consume after 4 weeks? Now due to the mold, I tend to open the jar everyday and use a form to immerse the fruits…Pls advice.

    Thanks

  23. Hi Mei Ling,

    Its no problem to use plastic container, but find a good one.

    As the fermentation process will release heat and gas, a thin plastic container may exploded and wasted your afford latter.

    I still preferred to use glass container.

  24. I heard that using plastic container will produced poisonous substances during the fermentation of enzyme, is it true?

  25. ML,

    Agreed with you. Some of the plastic may released hazardous substances, especially the non-food grade plastic. I still preferred to use glass container for my fruit enzyme preparation.

  26. i read about the other article saying that a drinking enzyme must ferment for 6 month for health reason. because the 1st month it will turn to alcohol and second month it will turn to vinegar so it is only suit to take after 6 month . is it right. so many diff. view, have u heard it before. how long should we ferment the enzyme? confuse!

  27. Now is the fruits season and mangosteen is one of them can be seen many people are selling everyway,so i am thinking of making mangosteen enzyme but so far no body making yet ,what is the reason? please advice,

  28. You wrote that the pineapple enzyme should be ready for consumption after 3 weeks. When making the dragon fruit enzyme using another method, you waited 3 months before you could harvest the enzyme. Should i harvest my enzyme in 3 weeks or 3 months? Please advise

  29. Ybonne,
    There are 2 enzyme making methods. I tried both and found that if I start consume after 3 weeks (the method stated in pineapple enzyme without adding water), it tasted more alcohol than the one that I waited for 3 months (using the 1:3:10 ratio method). Both are ok.

  30. first time i made tomato but it gone bad. this time i made tomato with starfruit and is nice. just that i don’t know what to do with the residue

  31. what if the the fruit that flooting at the top turn dark colour but no mold ( within 5-7 days) . should i take the darken fruit out? pls advise . Thanks

  32. I read few of the enzyme which u had posted last year “Homemade Enzyme for the Elderly” I tried to make once n it taste nice ,but I had missplace the recipe n now I try to look into ur website but cannot find can u share to me again ,TQ

    Rgds
    Frances from Singapore

  33. Help Help Help, anybody can help to answer – Can diabetics take the fruit enzyme since it contains quite a bit of sugar ?

  34. My dad has diabetics, he takes fruit enzyme but diluted with bitter melon juice 1:1, sometimes he just diluted with water.

  35. Hello, thanks for this. Can we eat the fruits left from the process? They look so yummy soaked in the sweet liquid! :)

  36. I made papaya enzyme. After 3 weeks, I harvested the enzyme. I tasted it. It has alcohol taste. Is it normal. Will the alcohol taste disappear if I keep it longer than 3 weeks ? TQ.

  37. Hi, I just found 2 bottles of orange enzyme from my fridge that I made 6 months ago, I totally forgotten. Are they still safe to be consumed ?

    Thanks
    Whitney

  38. I tried making kiwi enzyme. It is now 1 week old. Today I found some while ‘mould’ covering d top layer of fruits. I gave d bottle a good shake . The mould disappeared.

    I intend to keep & watch the bottle for another month.

    May I hv your advice if it is ok to consume it 1 mth later if I don’t find any more white foreign substance?

  39. hi, my mango enzyme fermentation goes good for the 1sr week but on 12th day the bubbles come out again, is my enzyme turning bad ?

  40. Hui Chun, recently I have harvested my fruits enzyme consisting of grapes, oranges, green apple and lemon with honey. It has been fermented for 2.5 years in glass jar and turns out nice. I diluted it in a botle of water (750ml) with 1 tbsp of the concentrated enzymes and kept in fridge. I will make the diluted enzymes daily. My son 13 years old likes it and has been drinking a lot. I am now concern if it’s ok to over drink it? Is there any issue on health with drinking too much and such long fermentation? Appreciate your reply.

  41. Then, a specially trained and licensed remediation expert will remove the mold infected
    portions of your home, or contents, and take them to a hazardous waste dump for disposal.
    Any leak in the plumbing or problems in the ventilation need to be addressed in order to stop the mold from growing further.

    As a result, many loops in the landscape
    are formed and eventually these loops cut off
    the river, forming lake-type bodies of water adjacent to the main river.

  42. Hi, I have made fruit enzyme last year. Now it has been about 1 year old. No mold growing but the liquid very dark brown in color. Is it still safe to drink? Any website which I can refer about this?

  43. It’s really very difficult in this busy life to listen news on TV, thus
    I simply use web for that purpose, and obtain the newest information.

Leave a Reply

